Lightning Round

Here are my reactions, looking through my Facebook and Twitter feeds full of radio station posts.  I’m warning you … I’ve got a head cold and I’m extra cranky today!  

When you set up a Facebook Question, it’s a waste of time to have more than three multiple-choice responses.  Only the top three you use show up on the page, and most people never click the darn thing to see what other choices they have.

There are some big, big radio brands that are still taking the liners that are written for their jocks to ad lib on the air, and cutting and pasting them to Facebook and Twitter.  Please stop doing that right now, and read this!

Good news, bad news.  One of the radio morning shows I follow on Facebook is pretty good about telling me what their special bits are that are coming up.  Unfortunately, they never, ever tell me when those features are going to happen.  Some of their ideas are pretty creative, but I’ve never bothered turning them on.

DON’T POST ALL IN CAPS, LIKE THIS.  JUST DON’T.

When you tweet, look at your message before you send it.  If it’s a general message meant for everyone, don’t have so many @’s and #’s that we have to think hard while we read it.

Furthermore, don’t send your Tweets through to Facebook!  Here’s some Facebook posts full of @’s and #’s.  Looks like silly secret code when you just scan (as everyone does on their computer or phone).

A station in a large market on the west coast just posted on Facebook that they are trying something new to give away Disney tickets, and to “TUNE IN, I am doing it next!”  Next to what?  In other words … give us some time to react, and don’t talk radio jargon at us in social media.

Ohhhhhh, thank you, Mr. Morning Show Host, you spent time in YouTube to find me some funny videos to watch?  However, I’ve seen ’em.  You don’t have something about your show you could tell me?

What is it about the phrase “Don’t Forget?”  Don’t forget to call and win … don’t forget to listen … don’t forget to join us … and so on and on and on.  I’ve heard that the subconscious mind can’t process negatives.  So, if you say “don’t forget,” you’re telling people to forget.  Say “Remember.”  Or, just tell ’em what you need to tell ’em.

I scrolled down a little further, and there’s another couple of messages that start, “Don’t forget!”

Wondering why this large market rock station that I follow almost always post news updates on Facebook.  Not news about themselves; newsy-type news.  There’s not a bit of news on the air, and their Facebook feed is full of news.  Disconnect!

Sometimes, I’ll see one station show up half-a-dozen times in a row on my Facebook page with different posts.  They did a WHOLE lotta posting, one right after another.  I gotta wonder … why did they save it all up for one big burst of Facebooking?  Especially when none of it is particularly urgent!  That’s a great way to send the message, “Hide or un-friend us now.”

You want to use Twitter to talk one-on-one with your fans?  Great.  That’s a wonderful use for Twitter.  Maybe you shouldn’t also then post general-interest stuff about your brand on Twitter, however, ’cause I ain’t looking for it there, in among all the personal messages!

Let’s hope I feel better tomorrow.  For your sake!

Chris Miller

Leave a Reply

